Tirumala Sapthagiri Seven Hills Name Importance Location

Keshava Temple Somanathapura Darshan Guide

Know the details about the Tirumala Sapthagiri Seven Hills Name Importance Location, Tirumala Seshachalam Hills Location, Names, Seven Hills Details

Tirumala Sapthagiri: A Tale of Seven Sacred Hills

Tirumala, the abode of Lord Venkateswara, is not just a pilgrimage site but a place rich in history, myth, and culture. The seven hills, collectively known as Tirumala Sapthagiri, form the backdrop of the famous temple and have their own unique story to tell.

Tirumala Sapthagiri Seven Hills Name Importance Location

The Story Behind Sapthagiri

The name ‘Sapthagiri’ comes from ‘Sapta’ meaning ‘seven’ and ‘Giri’ meaning ‘hill’ in Sanskrit. The seven hills are said to represent the seven heads of Adisesha, the serpent bed of Lord Vishnu, signifying that the entire Tirumala Hill is sacred.

The Names of the Seven Hills

Each of the seven hills has a specific name and significance:

  1. Vrushabhadri: This hill represents the bull Nandi, the vehicle of Lord Shiva.
  2. Anjanadri: This hill is believed to be the birthplace of Lord Hanuman.
  3. Neeladri: This is where the main temple of Lord Venkateswara resides.
  4. Garudadri: This hill represents Garuda, the eagle vehicle of Lord Vishnu.
  5. Seshadri: This hill symbolizes Sesha, the thousand-headed serpent on whom Lord Vishnu rests.
  6. Narayanadri: This hill is named after Lord Narayana, another form of Lord Vishnu.
  7. Venkatadri: This is where the deity of Lord Venkateswara was found.

Click here to Book for the Tirumala Temple Darshan Online Booking

History and Importance

Tirumala Sapthagiri has been mentioned in various ancient texts and Puranas, signifying its importance since time immemorial. The hills are considered highly sacred, and several legends and myths associated with them add to their spiritual significance.

The Tirumala temple, located on the seventh hill, Venkatadri, is one of the richest and most visited temples in the world. The deity here is believed to fulfill the wishes of the devotees, attracting millions every year.

Things to Know

  • All seven hills are considered sacred, and the entire area is maintained as a spiritual and ecological zone.
  • The journey to the temple, whether by foot or vehicle, offers stunning views of the lush green hills.
  • There are two trekking routes, Alipiri Mettu and Srivari Mettu, for those who wish to reach the temple on foot.
  • The seven hills are home to a wide variety of flora and fauna, including the rare Slender Loris and Indian Giant Squirrel.


Q: What does ‘Sapthagiri’ mean?

A: ‘Sapthagiri’ is a Sanskrit term where ‘Sapta’ means ‘seven’ and ‘Giri’ means ‘hill’. It refers to the seven hills of Tirumala.

Q: Do all seven hills have temples?

A: No, the main temple of Lord Venkateswara is situated on the seventh hill, Venkatadri. However, the entire region of Sapthagiri is considered sacred.

Q: Can I trek to the temple?

A: Yes, there are two trekking routes, Alipiri Mettu and Srivari Mettu, that you can take to reach the temple on foot.

Tirumala Sapthagiri, with its rich history, religious significance, and natural beauty, offers a unique spiritual experience. As we delve deeper into its story, it’s evident that every hill, every path, and every stone here has a tale to tell.

Tirumala Brahmotsavam Darshan Booking Online Availability


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here