Dasara Navaratri 9 Days Devi Names Avatar List Festivals


Know the details about the Dasara Navaratri 9 Days Devi Names Avatar List Festivals, Dasara Navaratri 9 Days God Names List Story Details

Dasara Navaratri: Understanding the 9 Days of Worship

Dasara Navaratri is one of the most significant Hindu festivals, celebrated with immense devotion and enthusiasm. This festival spans nine nights and ten days, dedicated to the worship of the Goddess Durga and her various forms. Each day of Navaratri has a distinct significance and deity associated with it. This guide provides detailed information about the nine days, the goddesses worshipped, poojas performed, and other essential details.

Dasara Navaratri 9 Days Devi Names Avatar List Festivals

About Navaratri

Navaratri, which means “nine nights,” is dedicated to the nine forms of the Goddess Durga. The festival symbolizes the victory of good over evil and is celebrated with prayers, fasting, feasting, and cultural activities.

List of Goddesses for Each Day

During Navaratri, devotees worship a different form of Goddess Durga each day. Here is a detailed table of the goddesses and their avatars for each day:

Day Goddess Name Avatar Description
Day 1 Shailaputri Daughter of the mountains
Day 2 Brahmacharini The mother of devotion and penance
Day 3 Chandraghanta The goddess of spiritual power
Day 4 Kushmanda The creator of the universe
Day 5 Skandamata Mother of Lord Kartikeya
Day 6 Katyayani The warrior goddess
Day 7 Kalaratri The fiercest form of Durga
Day 8 Mahagauri The goddess of purity and serenity
Day 9 Siddhidatri The goddess of supernatural powers

Poojas Performed Each Day

Each day of Navaratri has specific poojas and rituals associated with it. Here is a list of the poojas performed on each of the nine days:

  1. Day 1 (Pratipada): Ghatasthapana, Shailaputri Pooja
  2. Day 2 (Dwitiya): Brahmacharini Pooja
  3. Day 3 (Tritiya): Chandraghanta Pooja
  4. Day 4 (Chaturthi): Kushmanda Pooja
  5. Day 5 (Panchami): Skandamata Pooja
  6. Day 6 (Shashti): Katyayani Pooja
  7. Day 7 (Saptami): Kalaratri Pooja
  8. Day 8 (Ashtami): Mahagauri Pooja, Kanya Pooja
  9. Day 9 (Navami): Siddhidatri Pooja, Ayudha Pooja

Things to Know Before Celebrating Navaratri

  1. Fasting: Many devotees observe fasts during Navaratri. The type of fasting can vary from consuming only fruits and water to a single meal a day.
  2. Dress Code: Traditionally, devotees wear new or clean clothes each day, often in the color associated with that day’s goddess.
  3. Decorations: Homes and temples are decorated with flowers, lights, and rangolis to welcome the goddess.
  4. Cultural Programs: Many communities organize cultural programs, including dance performances like Garba and Dandiya, especially in Gujarat and Maharashtra.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Q: What is the significance of Navaratri? A: Navaratri celebrates the victory of good over evil and honors the nine forms of Goddess Durga.

Q: Can I perform Navaratri pooja at home? A: Yes, you can perform Navaratri pooja at home by setting up an altar and following the daily rituals.

Q: What should I eat during Navaratri fasting? A: During Navaratri fasting, you can eat fruits, nuts, dairy products, and specific grains like buckwheat and amaranth.

Q: What is Ghatasthapana? A: Ghatasthapana marks the beginning of Navaratri. It involves placing a pot (Kalash) filled with holy water and planting barley seeds around it.

Q: Are there any specific colors to wear during Navaratri? A: Yes, each day of Navaratri is associated with a specific color. Devotees often follow this color code while dressing.


Dasara Navaratri is a spiritually enriching festival that brings people together to celebrate the divine feminine energy. By understanding the significance of each day, the goddesses worshipped, and the rituals performed, devotees can deepen their connection with the divine and experience the true essence of the festival. Plan your celebrations, perform the poojas, and immerse yourself in the divine atmosphere of Navaratri.

Swarna Gowri Vratham Procedure Items List Pooja Katha Story


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here