Tiruvannamalai 8 Lingam Names List Route Map Locations


Know the details about the Tiruvannamalai 8 Lingam Names List Route Map Locations, Tiruvannamalai 8 Lingam Names List Temple Locations Map

The Divine Ashtalingams of Tiruvannamalai: A Spiritual Journey

Tiruvannamalai, a sacred city in Tamil Nadu, India, is known for its deep spiritual significance and historical grandeur. Among the numerous religious sites that this city boasts, the Ashtalingams or the 8 Shiva Lingams stand out for their unique religious significance. Each of these eight lingams is associated with a particular direction and celestial body.

Tiruvannamalai 8 Lingam Names List Route Map Locations

What are the Ashtalingams?

The term ‘Ashtalingam’ translates to ‘eight lingams.’ These lingams are manifestations of Lord Shiva, one of the primary deities in Hinduism. In Tiruvannamalai, these lingams are installed at specific locations around the holy hill Arunachala, forming an integral part of the Girivalam path, a route of circumambulation around the hill.

Names and Directions of the Ashtalingams

  1. Indra Lingam (East): The first lingam is the Indra Lingam, associated with the east direction and Lord Surya (the Sun). Devotees praying here are believed to be blessed with long life and prosperity.
  2. Agni Lingam (South East): The Agni Lingam, representing the southeast direction, signifies the element of fire.
  3. Yama Lingam (South): The Yama Lingam, installed in the south, is associated with the god of death, Yama.
  4. Niruthi Lingam (South West): The Niruthi Lingam signifies the southwest direction.
  5. Varuna Lingam (West): The Varuna Lingam, representing the west, is associated with the lord of water, Varuna.
  6. Vayu Lingam (North West): The Vayu Lingam, installed in the northwest direction, signifies the element of air.
  7. Kubera Lingam (North): The Kubera Lingam is associated with the north direction and the lord of wealth, Kubera.
  8. Easanya Lingam (North East): The final lingam, Easanya Lingam, represents the northeast direction. This lingam was installed by Esanyan, and Lord Budha is the presiding deity.

Click Here for the Tiruvannamalai 8 Lingam Names List Route Map

Route and Map

The route that covers these eight lingams is known as the Girivalam path. Devotees embark on this sacred pilgrimage around the foothills of Arunachala, a journey of approximately 14 kilometers.

Things to Know

While undertaking this spiritual journey, it’s important to remember that each lingam bestows different blessings upon its devotees. As such, it’s common for pilgrims to pray for specific boons at each shrine. Also, while there are no strict rules about when you can undertake this pilgrimage, many prefer to do so during the full moon, believing it to be especially auspicious.


Q: Can I visit all the lingams in one day? A: Yes, it’s possible to visit all the lingams in one day. However, it’s recommended to start early to avoid the midday heat.

Q: Is there any particular order in which I should visit the lingams? A: It’s traditionally recommended to start from the Indra Lingam and move in a clockwise direction, ending with the Easanya Lingam.

Q: Do I need to bring anything for the pilgrimage? A: Comfortable clothing and footwear are recommended, as the journey involves a significant amount of walking. It’s also advisable to carry water and light snacks.

Embarking on a pilgrimage to the Ashtalingams of Tiruvannamalai is not just a religious obligation, but also a journey of self-discovery and spiritual enlightenment. It’s a testament to the rich cultural heritage and deep-rooted spirituality of India.

Annavaram Temple Timings Opening Closing Break Pooja Detail


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here