Dasara Durga Pooja 9 Days Festival Durga Avatar Names List


Know the details about the Dasara Durga Pooja 9 Days Festival Durga Avatar Names List, Dasara Durga Pooja 9 Days Festival Names List

Dasara Durga Pooja: A Guide to the 9 Days of Navaratri

Dasara, also known as Navaratri, is a nine-day Hindu festival dedicated to worshipping the nine incarnations of Goddess Durga. Each day of Navaratri is associated with a specific avatar of the goddess and involves unique poojas and rituals. This blog provides detailed information on the names of the nine days, the goddesses worshipped, the pooja list, and essential things to know.

Dasara Durga Pooja 9 Days Festival Durga Avatar Names List

About Navaratri

Navaratri, meaning “nine nights,” celebrates the triumph of good over evil. Devotees worship the nine forms of Goddess Durga, known as Navadurga, each day. The festival culminates in Vijayadashami, symbolizing the victory of Goddess Durga over the demon Mahishasura.

Nine Days of Navaratri: God Avatar Names and Poojas

Day 1: Pratipada – Shailaputri

  • Goddess Avatar: Shailaputri, daughter of the mountains.
  • Pooja List: Ghatasthapana, Kalasha Sthapana, and Shailaputri Pooja.
  • Significance: Represents stability and strength.

Day 2: Dwitiya – Brahmacharini

  • Goddess Avatar: Brahmacharini, the ascetic.
  • Pooja List: Brahmacharini Pooja, offering white flowers and sugar.
  • Significance: Symbolizes penance and devotion.

Day 3: Tritiya – Chandraghanta

  • Goddess Avatar: Chandraghanta, the warrior goddess.
  • Pooja List: Chandraghanta Pooja, offering milk and kheer.
  • Significance: Represents courage and bravery.

Day 4: Chaturthi – Kushmanda

  • Goddess Avatar: Kushmanda, the creator of the universe.
  • Pooja List: Kushmanda Pooja, offering pumpkin and sweets.
  • Significance: Symbolizes vitality and health.

Day 5: Panchami – Skandamata

  • Goddess Avatar: Skandamata, mother of Lord Kartikeya.
  • Pooja List: Skandamata Pooja, offering bananas and yellow flowers.
  • Significance: Represents motherhood and nurturing.

Day 6: Shashti – Katyayani

  • Goddess Avatar: Katyayani, the warrior goddess.
  • Pooja List: Katyayani Pooja, offering honey and red flowers.
  • Significance: Symbolizes strength and protection.

Day 7: Saptami – Kalaratri

  • Goddess Avatar: Kalaratri, the dark goddess.
  • Pooja List: Kalaratri Pooja, offering jaggery and black sesame seeds.
  • Significance: Represents destruction of negativity.

Day 8: Ashtami – Mahagauri

  • Goddess Avatar: Mahagauri, the fair one.
  • Pooja List: Mahagauri Pooja, offering coconut and white flowers.
  • Significance: Symbolizes purity and serenity.

Day 9: Navami – Siddhidatri

  • Goddess Avatar: Siddhidatri, the giver of supernatural powers.
  • Pooja List: Siddhidatri Pooja, offering sesame seeds and flowers.
  • Significance: Represents wisdom and enlightenment.

Things to Know


Each day involves specific rituals that include chanting mantras, performing aarti, and offering prasadams like fruits, sweets, and flowers to the goddess.


Many devotees observe fasting during Navaratri, consuming only satvik (pure) foods like fruits, milk, and vegetarian dishes without onion and garlic.


Homes and temples are decorated with flowers, rangoli, and lights. Traditional items like kalash (holy pot) are used in poojas.

Cultural Events

Navaratri is marked by cultural events like Garba and Dandiya dances, especially in Gujarat and Maharashtra.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Q: What is the significance of Navaratri? A: Navaratri celebrates the victory of good over evil and honors the nine forms of Goddess Durga.

Q: Is it necessary to fast during Navaratri? A: Fasting is a traditional practice, but it is not mandatory. Devotees can choose to fast based on their personal beliefs and health conditions.

Q: Can I perform Navaratri pooja at home? A: Yes, you can perform Navaratri pooja at home by setting up a small altar and following the rituals with devotion.

Q: What are the specific colors for each day of Navaratri? A: Each day has an associated color. For example, Day 1 is yellow, Day 2 is green, Day 3 is grey, and so on.

Q: How can I prepare for Navaratri pooja? A: Clean the pooja area, gather required items like flowers, fruits, and prasad, and follow the specific rituals for each day.

Celebrating Dasara Durga Pooja with devotion and understanding enhances the spiritual experience. By worshipping the nine forms of Goddess Durga and performing the rituals with sincerity, devotees seek blessings for health, prosperity, and happiness.

Lingaraj Temple Abhishekam Timings Ticket Cost Online Booking


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here